Writing a Rec Letter Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Law223

New

Writing a Rec Letter

Post by Law223 » Mon Nov 29, 2010 1:56 am

Greetings,

I am a lawyer from West Texas and have been asked to write a letter for a young man to my alma matter. I think this gentleman would make an excellent addition to our alumni and on top of that I feel he has what it takes to make an outstanding lawyer. I come to you folks as I have never actually written a recomendation letter and have really no idea what it should look like. I have been practicing for over 40 years and so I know what it takes to make it in this field and this kid has it. I have been in business with the boy's grandfather for over 50 years and thus know the family quite well including they way the young man was brought up and have been kept informed of his accomplishments. I have not had a lot of personal interaction with the young man, however that which I did have was quite impressive.

I apologize for rambling, I guess my question is this: what do I need to put in this letter to ensure that my alma matter will accept this young man and give him the education I think he deserves? I called the office of admissions myself but they were not very helpful, same story with the alumni association rep. The other lawyers I am friends with do not often write letters either as none of them are invovled in the academic community.

Thank you (I do apologize for any typing errors, however I am rather useless when it comes to computers. My assistant had to get me to page.)

whymeohgodno

Gold

Re: Writing a Rec Letter

Post by whymeohgodno » Mon Nov 29, 2010 1:59 am

Law223 wrote:Greetings,