What numbers have gotten big $ in R50-100 schools? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
ArghItsBlarg

Bronze

What numbers have gotten big $ in R50-100 schools?

Post by ArghItsBlarg » Mon Oct 18, 2010 8:29 am

(Skip to the end for the actual question, I won't be offended)
I'm a white male working professional currently supporting my family on my salary. I just took the LSAT in October and will be attending Law School part time/evening. I live near and work in Chicago, and can't move, so my choices are primarily between Chicago-Kent and DePaul. I've already submitted my application to each of them, ED to Kent, which is my preference between the two. I suppose I'm non-traditional (I haven't run across an actual definition of traditional yet) in that I'm 10 years out of undergrad and I was a music major at Northwestern. I graduated with a 3.36. I've also spent the past 7+ years working as a legal assistant in various firms.

My PT's have me scoring consistently in the 171-175 range. My problem in October's test is that my daughter was born one week prior to the test date. All things considered I did pretty well with regard to sleep, but there's no question that there was a substantial lack of sleep going into it (although I did stay at a hotel the night prior. Can't recommend that enough). I know that I'm firmly enmeshed in the second-guessing stage as I await my score, but I also know that I got to the last RC section (African American Transnationalism - 7 questions) as the proctor called 5 minutes left. I have never run out of time on an RC passage (speedreader) but I did on this passage, and I had to burn through the reading and each question with almost no time for contemplation or to look for trickery. I'm worried that I may not have gotten 170+.