Taking 2 years off before law school Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
kpuc

Bronze

Taking 2 years off before law school

Post by kpuc » Fri Oct 15, 2010 9:17 pm

I graduated from college in May, and I just took the LSAT this October. I always planned to take a year off before law school, which is why I was in no rush to take the LSAT while I was still in school.

But recent circumstances have me thinking about whether taking 2 years off is an even better idea. My parents recently moved to Korea, and I thought that taking the year off would be a nice opportunity for me to become fluent in Korean (I'm at an adequate, but basic level). However, I also wanted to live in Europe for a little bit on a working holiday visa (I'm a Canadian citizen). I just arrived in Korea after remaining on campus to study for the LSATs, and it seems that I can't do both - become fluent in Korean and live in Europe - in the time between now and next fall.

I just got an interview for teaching English in Jeju Island, which is a large island at the very south of the Korean peninsula. It's a beautiful place that's a major tourist attraction. I've never really been outside of Seoul in Korea, and I think this would be a fantastic opportunity for me to see my ancestral country, make some money, and improve my Korean. However, if I take the job, I will probably not be able to do the Europe thing.

I'm now thinking of taking two years off, which I've thought about before. That way, I'll get to do everything I want with plenty of time to spare. I see no particular advantage of going into law school quickly: the job market sucks, and going into 1L without any regrets is probably extremely wise. Some of the downsides are that I'd be delaying the start of my career by a year, and I may be a bit rusty in terms of studying.