GPA, Study Abroad Courses and Addenda Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
ahduth

Gold

GPA, Study Abroad Courses and Addenda

Post by ahduth » Wed Sep 29, 2010 11:26 am

I have a quick question that some of you might have some insight into. While I was in college, I attended a study abroad program in Paris for a semester. My grades through Universite de Paris VII were significantly lower than my grades through NYU itself. So overall I graduated with a 3.76 GPA, but if you subtract out the study abroad semester, my GPA rises to about 3.9.

Is this something I should point out in an addenda to my application? If I had to make the choice again, I would definitely still do it - the study abroad experience was immensely valuable, no matter the impact on my GPA. I just don't want to come off like I'm whining to the admissions officers, basically.

Another caveat perhaps is that I'm ten years out of undergrad, so that may impact it as well.

Thanks in advance for any advice you can give. :D

Platinum

Re: GPA, Study Abroad Courses and Addenda

Post by 2014 » Wed Sep 29, 2010 11:38 am

They will be able to see the trends on your LSDAS GPA report and I would assume they are used to looking for them. If you have a good reason why your GPA was lower there, outside of "I was studying abroad" then I think you could justify an extremely short addendum. However, if your only reason is that you were abroad at a different school, then I wouldn't send one, because just going to a different school probably isn't likely to be viewed by them as a sigificant reason for a grade decline.

Bildungsroman

Platinum

Post by Bildungsroman » Wed Sep 29, 2010 11:41 am