UW(ashington) for Patent Law -- Questions Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Chemeng2!

New

UW(ashington) for Patent Law -- Questions

Post by Chemeng2! » Sun Sep 26, 2010 8:39 pm

Thanks in advance for the help.

Two questions here. One regarding patent law in Seattle and the other regarding admission likelihood....

I'm in my late 20s and married, so moving around the country for law school is not an option. Currently, University of Washington is my top choice school for beginning a career in patent law.

1)I have a BS in chemistry, minor in math, approximately 3 years work experience, a research-based MS in chemical engineering from UT and great references. I am a good writer and have been told I have an excellent PS. I had to support myself and help support both my ill parents as an undergrad (not a typical experience), which lead to a 3.1 UGPA. No upward trend, I continued to help my parents until 2 years after I finished my BS. I am Mexican-American and a WA resident.

With a 166 LSAT score, what do you think my prospects are? I will be submitting the application in mid to late October.

2) Any thoughts on patent law work in Seattle? How important is it to go to a top law school for patent law if one already has an engineering degree from a top school?

And, lastly, what does the admissions committee at UW want? Any tips on the application?

deadpoetnsp

Bronze

Re: UW(ashington) for Patent Law -- Questions

Post by deadpoetnsp » Tue Sep 28, 2010 1:33 am

I've PMed you.

WonkyPanda

Bronze

Post by WonkyPanda » Tue Sep 28, 2010 4:35 am

Awww, no PM. I was curious to some of these answer about UW as well.

JakeL

Bronze

Post by JakeL » Tue Sep 28, 2010 2:19 pm