transcript discrepancy Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
havana daydreamin

New

transcript discrepancy

Post by havana daydreamin » Sat Sep 25, 2010 1:27 am

So my transcripts were received by LSAC a week or so ago. I just checked the Academic summary and my GPA was slightly lower on my LSAC transcript then the one from my school. After doing some research, I found that LSAC credited me for a B in a particular class during a semester in which I had an A (my school did NOT do minuses/pluses). Is this an error on the LSAC's part? If so, is it easy to get fixed? I've already sent them an email, but am somewhat worried and am wondering if anyone on here had this issue.

whymeohgodno

Gold

Re: transcript discrepancy

Post by whymeohgodno » Sat Sep 25, 2010 2:20 am

That's a weird error. I have no personal experience on this but it seems like an error that should be fixed.

M.M.

Bronze

Post by M.M. » Sat Sep 25, 2010 4:16 am

Further, what's the difference between LSAC and normal GPA?

Excellence = a Habit

Silver

Post by Excellence = a Habit » Sat Sep 25, 2010 2:13 pm

M.M. wrote:Further, what's the difference between LSAC and normal GPA?
LSAC GPA is the one that law schools look at in determining admissions. I understand that it is an attempt to adjust for grade inflation to some degree, so I lot of people's LSAC GPAs are lower than their "normal" ones, though I'm not sure how the adjustments are made.

Bildungsroman

Platinum

Post by Bildungsroman » Sat Sep 25, 2010 2:32 pm

Excellence = a Habit wrote:
LSAC GPA is the one that law schools look at in determining admissions.I understand that it is an attempt to adjust for grade inflation to some degree, so I lot of people's LSAC GPAs are lower than their "normal" ones, though I'm not sure how the adjustments are made.