Should I drop? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
ctxmike

New

Should I drop?

Post by ctxmike » Wed Sep 15, 2010 11:14 pm

I'm a transfer student beginning my first year at a top 20 uni (attended a low-tier state school my freshman year and maintained a 4.0 before transferring). I enjoyed chemistry in high school and enjoyed an intriguing, but very arduous biology course my freshman year, so I decided to take Chemistry 1 this year. Unfortunately, I've found this to be a tremendous mistake. With boring labs, uninteresting lectures, and surrounded by 90% pre-meds, I am absolutely miserable in my current circumstances (in retrospect, I have no idea what I was thinking).

As of now, I'm taking 16 hours, so if I drop, I'll receive a "W" and will still be at the 12 hour range. I know this question is asked a million times, but this being my first year as a transfer at a top uni, I think I'm in an odd predicament. My biggest fear is that law schools will think I was unable to handle the course load here and like all pre-laws, I would like to get into a T14.

Right now, I'm doing OK in Chemistry, but I absolutely despise the course. Because of it, I think I've also lost a lot of time I could otherwise have devoted to ECs. So what do you guys think? Should I stick it out or drop the course? Has any successful law student on the boards been in a somewhat similar situation to my own?

Thanks.

xyzzzzzzzz

Bronze

Re: Should I drop?

Post by xyzzzzzzzz » Wed Sep 15, 2010 11:19 pm

Here we go

1 w is no big deal. Doesn't really matter than you're at your new school. Also gpa > ecs. If you think this class is going to eff your gpa, withdraw. Really. One W and a high gpa is a way better position to be in than an average gpa and no W's.

Spinozist21

Silver

Post by Spinozist21 » Wed Sep 15, 2010 11:20 pm