Who to ask for a LOR? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
millanda

New

Who to ask for a LOR?

Post by millanda » Mon Sep 06, 2010 11:34 pm

I'm majoring in journalism and English, and I wanted a LOR representing each major. I know enough professors/TAs in journalism, but I'm not sure who to ask for English. My fiction writing professor knows me well, but does that sort of class say anything about how I'll do in law school? Or is it too much on the creative side and not analytical enough?

northwood

Platinum

Re: Who to ask for a LOR?

Post by northwood » Tue Sep 07, 2010 12:51 am

ask the professors that you know will write you an amazing letter. You can always ask more than 3 and use them accordingly. If you know one of your professors is an alum of a target school, then use that letter for that schools applicaiton. If that doesnt work as well, pick the ones that will turn in the letter the fastest ( and keep it sparkling )

millanda

New

Post by millanda » Wed Sep 08, 2010 1:50 pm

If you ask for more than three, how do you choose which to send? Don't you typically waive your right to read them? And I have a few professors in mind that I think will write me good letters, but should the classes they teach be taken into consideration? Like, is fiction writing not analytical enough of a class for a law school recommendation letter?

St.Remy

Silver

Post by St.Remy » Wed Sep 08, 2010 1:57 pm

millanda wrote:If you ask for more than three, how do you choose which to send? Don't you typically waive your right to read them? And I have a few professors in mind that I think will write me good letters, but should the classes they teach be taken into consideration? Like, is fiction writing not analytical enough of a class for a law school recommendation letter?