academic warning Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
somedaycrazy

New

academic warning

Post by somedaycrazy » Mon Aug 23, 2010 10:11 pm

So I was just looking at my transcript and noticed that I was placed on warning 2 times. All the other times I was on dean's list. I was placed on warning when I was a Pharmacy student and struggled to pass organic chemistry. Now, I am stuck writing a note to the law schools. I don't know what to say. I am a URM coming from an HBCU with an okay gpa (3.3) but no work experience. I am taking the LSAT for the first and finale time in October. My parents went to Duke Law. I know I don't have a chance to go there. I am just now worried I won't get in anywhere. Anyways, how hard to admission people look at academic warning? What is the best way to explain being on warning without blaming a class/teach/myself?

whymeohgodno

Gold

Re: academic warning

Post by whymeohgodno » Mon Aug 23, 2010 11:04 pm

you are a urm....that gpa is pretty much a 3.8...which is at median or above for many t14 schools including duke I believe.

so just get below but not well below the median for duke lsat..and you're in as URM.

2ofspades

Bronze

Post by 2ofspades » Mon Aug 23, 2010 11:23 pm

somedaycrazy wrote:What is the best way to explain being on warning without blaming a class/teach/myself?
An honest explanation is best. You have to address why you are on warning, so you should include the rule for being placed on warning at your school (ie, presumably there is a particular GPA you fell under) and you should identify the factor that caused your GPA to fall below that level. You thought organic chemistry was hard. Say that. Your readers will hope, though, that you learned something from the experience - and hopefully you did - so speak briefly to that as well.

A'nold

Gold

Post by A'nold » Mon Aug 23, 2010 11:28 pm

My flame radar has activated: