Military/ Law school? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
tmro

New

Military/ Law school?

Post by tmro » Tue Aug 10, 2010 5:55 pm

Hello, I'm a sophomore cadet in Army ROTC. I major in engineering and planned until recently going active duty after graduation, now I'm considering law school. Should I fulfill my obligation to the Army first, and then apply to law school, or apply for an educational delay, attend law school as a 2LT then go in as a CPT? My GPA isn't as great considering, so which would give me better chances? Or is this not even considered? Thanks

anli

New

Re: Military/ Law school?

Post by anli » Tue Aug 10, 2010 6:10 pm

Do your service commitment first. It will be a nice soft, and more importantly, you will have the GI bill to cover the cost of law school. That is a tremendous financial benefit that I wish I had considered prior to law school myself.

Drew82abndiv

Bronze

Post by Drew82abndiv » Wed Aug 11, 2010 12:04 am

Do your commitment first but know that you WILL NOT have the GI bill to pay for law school if you were a 4 year scholarship cadet. I served my time and took the LSAT in Afghanistan on my second deployment and since I am a combat vet I go to school for free in CT (and many states do the same thing). Get some real world experience and enjoy the traveling for a few years...you aren't too old when it's done and then you have time to sort things out in your head.

Drew

casper13

New

Post by casper13 » Wed Aug 11, 2010 7:10 am

Drew82abndiv wrote:Do your commitment first but know that you WILL NOT have the GI bill to pay for law school if you were a 4 year scholarship cadet. I served my time and took the LSAT in Afghanistan on my second deployment and since I am a combat vet I go to school for free in CT (and many states do the same thing). Get some real world experience and enjoy the traveling for a few years...you aren't too old when it's done and then you have time to sort things out in your head.