Another LSAT Retake Thread <Should I?> Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Upton Sinclair

Bronze

Another LSAT Retake Thread <Should I?>

Post by Upton Sinclair » Mon Jul 12, 2010 8:29 pm

Right to business. 170 LSAT, ~3.35 GPA, currently working since my Dec. 09 graduation. I don't want to apply ED anywhere. I would like BigLaw, but there is certainly room for other creative avenues (particularly if I get into one of the schools where I have a solid networking base).

My target sticker schools:
Michigan (big reach, I know)
G'town
UCLA

My target scholly schools are less specific (various schools between 17-30), although Notre Dame would be my preference out of all of them.

A little about my preparation: I studied the Logic Games Bible for about 2 hours a day, weekdays, for a month. Took my first preptest after I finished the book and got a 170. Took another and got a 172. I did next to nothing to prepare for the Logic section, and literally nothing to prepare for the Reading Comprehension (though I don't know how much you can really practice for RC). Over the next couple weeks I took 5 practice tests, averaging a 170. At this point, I had some things go awry in my life, and I didn't pick up a book for another 6 weeks. I began prepping again a little less than 3 weeks before test day. I used this time to only take preptests, where I averaged just below a 170 (6-7 tests).