Timing/Usefulness of Graduate Degrees and Going Abroad Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
namename

New

Timing/Usefulness of Graduate Degrees and Going Abroad

Post by namename » Wed Jul 07, 2010 5:45 pm

This is my first post, so thank you in advance for your responses. As a long time reader of TLS, I know that more information provided up front usually produces more carefully qualified responses -- so excuse me in advance for the extra information. Finally, I may delete this post (quite a bit of information on it), so I would appreciate keeping the full quotes to a minimum.

I am strongly considering law school for a variety of reasons (interested in the law as it relates to policy/society, career flexibility, financial benefits, etc.). I graduated in 2009 with degrees in Economics, IR, and Chinese, and currently work for a good public policy nonprofit in Washington, DC. GPA = 3.8 and LSAT = 170. Ultimately, I would like to work for a federal agency, Congress, nonprofit or practice international law. I have backpacked/studied in China, and am planning on making Asia a part of my life/career. One possibility is working for the USTR on issues of international trade, or some such path.

To the point -- I am trying to figure out whether or not to get an advanced degree, and when to pursue this (i.e. before or after the J.D.) Possible options include: LSE: MPP, MSc Global Politics, MSc Philosophy and Public Policy; Nottingham: MA Contemporary Chinese Studies; LeeKY: MPP. Many foreign programs are 1 year and cost ~ $US 25,000 plus COL. What about getting a HKU JD (2 years, about the same-ish price as international MA) and then going to a school like Michigan and getting a JD? Is a thing like this even allowed? Does getting a graduate degree before law school help with admissions/financial aid/summer jobs?