Early Admission to Hastings Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
djjf39

Bronze

Early Admission to Hastings

Post by djjf39 » Tue May 25, 2010 5:12 pm

Hi,

So I am a graduate student in philosophy and will come out with an MA in the spring of 2011. My GPA should be around 3.9. I did my undergraduate at Evergreen, so I do not have a UGPA. My written evaluations were quite good, but I have no clue what that will actually mean for me admissions wise. I take the LSAT in June, and feel like high 160s low 170s is about where I should end up, assuming my practice scores are good indicators. I have been meeting with a private tutor for the last five months, and feel very good about my general ability on the LSAT.

My questions follow: if I do poorly on the LSAT, say 161-164, would I still have a shot at early admission to Hastings? What is the auto-admit threshold for Hastings? And would I fall into that category since I did my undergrad in a non-traditional pedagogy?

Thanks,

Dan

Borhas

Platinum

Re: Early Admission to Hastings

Post by Borhas » Tue May 25, 2010 5:18 pm

Hastings is unusual in its admission because a lot of people that have "auto admit" numbers are wait-listed. In past years this was because of yield protection, but they didn't really use any blatant yield protection this year and yet they had a lot of wait lists in the generally accepted zones.

For this past year it seems like 163 was the minimum unless you had a gpa above their 75% GPA marking. A 164-165 would be in the safe zone.

Since you won't have a gpa I think you should really just consider 164 as your minimum.

helpful website:
http://hastings.lawschoolnumbers.com/stats/0910/
Last edited by Borhas on Sun Jan 28, 2018 2:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

djjf39

Bronze

Post by djjf39 » Tue May 25, 2010 5:21 pm

Thank you Borhas.

McNulty

Bronze

Post by McNulty » Fri Oct 29, 2010 10:07 pm

Bumping - ED question!