Law school application advice Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Pengto

New

Law school application advice

Post by Pengto » Fri Apr 16, 2010 11:41 am

I am a Canadian student currently finishing up my Junior year of college at a small private college in the state of New York. I am a division 1 athlete with a 3.4 GPA (should be able to get it to 3.5 come application time) in finance and I have been doing some practice LSAT tests with scores around 155-160.

What are my chances at a top50 law school? top100? Will I even be competitive? Should I take a LSAT prep course? Does being a Canadian or a Division 1 athlete help my chances at all?

Please help, any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Sangiovese

Bronze

Re: Law school application advice

Post by Sangiovese » Fri Apr 16, 2010 11:57 am

Law School Predictor allows you to plug in your numbers and see where you stand at the various schools. It may not be 100% accurate, but it is as close as you're going to get.

http://www.lawschoolpredictor.com/wp-co ... ograms.htm

Canadian won't help you much if at all. There is a slight chance that you'll fill a needed gap in a school's "student diversity" profile - but I certainly wouldn't count on that. And any bump you would get from being able to fill in an empty spot on their matrix would be very small.

Being a D1 athlete probably gives you some good material for a solid personal statement and speaks to your drive and determination... but again, it's a small thing and won't make a large difference.