168, 3.8-- ride the waitlists, take a scholly, reapply? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )

Too Many Variables...

WUSTL/Illinois
20%
UCLA
20%
USC
6%
Fordham
11%
UT
8%
You'll get into NW or Cornell fo' shizzle!
18%
Pin hopes on waitlist
6%
Retake and reapply
11%

Total votes: 65

MusicNutMeggie

Bronze

168, 3.8-- ride the waitlists, take a scholly, reapply?

Post by MusicNutMeggie » Wed Apr 07, 2010 2:27 pm

So far, I am:
-"on reserve" at Columbia
-in the "special group on the preferred waitlist" at GULC
-waitlisted at Duke
-held at Northwestern
-still waiting to hear from Cornell, but given how tough this year's been, I'm not overly optimistic.

I graduated Phi Beta Kappa in May '09 with a BM and a BA from a top-30 university and am currently working with under-performing kids at a charter school for inner-city populations. A few other decent softs-- heavy extra-curricular involvement, etc., plus a VERY unique personal statement, but whatever. My LSAT was 168 (160 retake), but I scored in the mid-170's on EVERY released test before I choked and kind of blew the June test. Whoops. I also applied in mid-November and early December, so that couldn't have helped matters.

I'm choosing between:
-A full-tuition scholly at WUSTL
-non-resident tuition exemption plus $7000 a year at UT
-half tuition at USC
-full tuition at Illinois
-$25000/year at Fordham
-$2500/year at UCLA (and I'm a CA resident)

No, I have no idea what kind of law I want to practice-- I have healthy interests in Constitutional, international, public interest...that's no help. I've lived in LA, and I love it. I've lived in New York, and I love it there, too. DC seems pretty awesome, though I haven't spent much time there. I definitely want to end up on one of the coasts...but don't yet know which one, and Chicago's certainly not out of the question. I have a brother and two nieces in Austin, I've never been to St. Louis, and...aarrrrgggh!