Suggestions on Masters while another wasted year for LSAT Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Think_lax86

New

Suggestions on Masters while another wasted year for LSAT

Post by Think_lax86 » Sun Apr 04, 2010 7:36 pm

So after I graduated from college I took this year off to really decide if law was for me. After my subpar performance on the LSAT however, I didnt get enough money in scholarship offers to attend a somewhat decent law school. And without that incentive, law school in todays legal market just doesnt add up for me. I wanted to take another year off to study up for the LSAT but finding a job has been killer. Nothing is open so I was thinking of enrolling in a year long masters program. Anyone got any suggestions on a good year long masters program for someone in this position?

TheBigMediocre

Silver

Re: Suggestions on Masters while another wasted year for LSAT

Post by TheBigMediocre » Sun Apr 04, 2010 7:50 pm

Masters of Accounting, if you're UG degree is in business.

Think_lax86

New

Post by Think_lax86 » Sun Apr 04, 2010 8:03 pm

its not... its in environmental planning... not environmental science though...

i was thinking public administration but thats 2 years... political science would be awesome but I wasnt political science undergrad which blows donkey balls... anything else?

chanchito

Bronze

Post by chanchito » Sun Apr 04, 2010 8:53 pm

A master's is often expensive because they don't let you teach as a TA and often don't have scholarships.

Have you thought of doing a PhD and then dropping after the first year? it is free then, and you end up with a masters.

sumus romani

Silver

Post by sumus romani » Sun Apr 04, 2010 9:00 pm

chanchito wrote:A master's is often expensive because they don't let you teach as a TA and often don't have scholarships.

Have you thought of doing a PhD and then dropping after the first year? it is free then, and you end up with a masters.