Law school admissions Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Jewuh

New

Law school admissions

Post by Jewuh » Sun Feb 28, 2010 2:09 pm

I migrated to the United States in April last year, i took the LSAT in September and scored 142. I graduated with a law degree (LLB) from East Africa and a Diploma in Legal Practice. I have a work experience of at least 2 years in the legal field. I don't really want to retake the LSAT. What are my chances of getting into law school?

SandyC877

Bronze

Re: Law school admissions

Post by SandyC877 » Sun Feb 28, 2010 2:11 pm

Jewuh wrote:I migrated to the United States in April last year, i took the LSAT in September and scored 142. I graduated with a law degree (LLB) from East Africa and a Diploma in Legal Practice. I have a work experience of at least 2 years in the legal field. I don't really want to retake the LSAT. What are my chances of getting into law school?
Your chances are 90% or better that you will get into a law school. I can't guarantee it will be anything above TTTT.

reverendt

Bronze

Post by reverendt » Sun Feb 28, 2010 2:13 pm

Retake.

If you're willing to go through 3 years of law school, you should be willing to retake a test.
Study and retake.
Are you a URM? If so, if you can get your score into the 150s, considering your prior experience, you could probably get into a decent school.

holydonkey

Silver

Post by holydonkey » Sun Feb 28, 2010 2:15 pm

Not sure what your gpa would work out to be with an international degree, but check out this site - http://www.lawschoolpredictor.com/?page_id=11

There are some schools that might still accept a 142 depending on how your gpa works out. Really should retake though.

Lomax

Bronze

Post by Lomax » Sun Feb 28, 2010 2:17 pm