What is the ranking cutoff thats worth going to law school? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
JSIM462

New

What is the ranking cutoff thats worth going to law school?

Post by JSIM462 » Wed Feb 03, 2010 12:07 am

I used to think I was smart with my 3.8 GPA (only non As being 100 level courses that I blew off). But the LSATs broke my spirit. I took them in June, but due to some factors did not study and received a 158. I decided I would apply to one school and if I didn't get in, I would not be heartbroken.

Then in November, on a whim, I told myself to try again. Study. Go for it. I registered without giving myself to think it over, knowing the money would make me take it seriously. For about 3 weeks I studied on and off, did problems,not timed. The last 2 weeks I picked up the pace. I was doing well too. Bought the Kaplan book. LG are second nature to me, no problems there. RC I am pretty consistently good with. But those damn LRs are going to kill me. I am so inconsistent with them. I could get 3 wrong, 9 wrong...there is no pattern. I know I don't have enough practice to get into the mid-high 160s like I wanted. Law school is important to me, but not the end of the world if I don't go. So when is law school not worth going to for someone who even has a job lined up (albeit a government job that doesn't pay too well)? Top 100?

Thoughts. Comments. Pity. All are welcome

cardinalandgold

Silver

Re: What is the ranking cutoff thats worth going to law school?

Post by cardinalandgold » Wed Feb 03, 2010 12:10 am

Since you already have a job lined up, take some time off. Re-take the LSAT. With your GPA, a lot of doors will open if you can improve your score. Don't waste that GPA!

Kohinoor

Gold

Post by Kohinoor » Wed Feb 03, 2010 12:12 am

Yale or hire

MURPH

Silver

Post by MURPH » Wed Feb 03, 2010 12:16 am