Opinions please Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
amethyst

New

Opinions please

Post by amethyst » Tue Feb 02, 2010 5:35 pm

I live in Northern California and am thinking about applying for law schools within NorCal however, I am feeling a little indecisive due to my options and was hoping to get some opinions.

I already have a career as an insurance liability adjuster and thus would only apply for part-time evening programs. The issue is my numbers. My cumulative GPA is 2.83, however, my first two years of college were taken over 10 years ago. After doing horrible the first two years, I took a couple of years off and attained a 3.55 in my last two years of study. I also have a LSAT of 155.

I have extensive work experience and life experience. I have worked as a case worker for federal parolees; an office manager for a law reform body; and finally a liability adjuster for an insurance company. I have worked and lived in two different foreign countries as well. Will my experience and my explanation of poor grades offer me a chance anywhere?

I don't care about top schools, however, I constantly read that it's not worth going to T4s because when you graduate you'll probably only make 60K a year and will be fronted with 100K debt. Certainly if that's the scenario it is not worth it. Ideally, I would like to attend McGeorge's evening division, but not sure if my numbers match quite.

Any thoughts? Frank opinions appreciated.

inordertologin

New

Re: Opinions please

Post by inordertologin » Tue Feb 02, 2010 5:46 pm

amethyst wrote:I live in Northern California and am thinking about applying for law schools within NorCal however, I am feeling a little indecisive due to my options and was hoping to get some opinions.