Disadvantages of Part Time Program?? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
alltheway

New

Disadvantages of Part Time Program??

Post by alltheway » Thu Jan 21, 2010 3:41 am

What are the disadvantages of doing a part time program rather than a full time? Are their graduates less competitive on the job market? Get paid less? No opportunity for law review and other journals?
Thanks in advance

OperaSoprano

Gold

Re: Disadvantages of Part Time Program??

Post by OperaSoprano » Thu Jan 21, 2010 3:48 am

alltheway wrote:What are the disadvantages of doing a part time program rather than a full time? Are their graduates less competitive on the job market? Get paid less? No opportunity for law review and other journals?
Thanks in advance
I'm a part time student and I love it. We have the same law review and journal opportunities as the day students, and we use the same OCI. As with all other students, employers care about your grades. There is one thing that some would call a serious drawback, though it doesn't effect me at all. If you plan on transferring up, you will find that many schools bar PT transfers because they have too few credits after the first year. There are notable exceptions, like GULC and UVA.

In addition, most schools let you switch to the day program with very little hassle.

beef wellington

Silver

Post by beef wellington » Thu Jan 21, 2010 3:57 am

I'm interested in this question too.

Do you work, OS? What % of people in Fordham's PT work? I've been wondering about doing GULC PT without working, then transfer to FT; wouldn't I be able to devote more attention to my studies this way? I'm failing to see any drawbacks to this plan...

Lomax

Bronze

Post by Lomax » Thu Jan 21, 2010 4:00 am