Building soft elements Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Unshake

New

Building soft elements

Post by Unshake » Wed Jan 20, 2010 3:11 pm

I've been slowly trying to prepare for applying to law school and the LSAT, but if I were to apply today my application would severely lack soft factors. I know these are the least important, but the difference between having terrible softs and OK softs seems to be a small amount of work.

So I guess my question is, what would you do if you had about 6-7 months left to build a solid application from the soft standpoint? Join clubs? Volunteer? Apply for lots of 1-2 month interns?

I've had some volunteer experience, but nothing extraordinary by any measure, and nothing in the last 1.5 years. I haven't worked any impressive/real jobs during college either, standard lab job and nothing more.

pjo

Silver

Re: Building soft elements

Post by pjo » Wed Jan 20, 2010 3:17 pm

I'm not an expert or anything on this but from what I've heard unless your softs are something incredible it doesn't really matter so much what they are. What matters is that you have SOMETHING on your app. Like a list of some softs may not get you in, but a lack of them could potentially waitlist you. With 6 months, I would just concentrate on 2, maybe 3 things but really devote some time to them. They're always good to explore in more detail in your personal statement.

neimanmarxist

Bronze

Post by neimanmarxist » Wed Jan 20, 2010 3:21 pm

the books I've read about admissions all say that public service is always duly noted. Other things not so much.

WhiskeyGuy

Bronze

Post by WhiskeyGuy » Wed Jan 20, 2010 3:26 pm

First and foremost, you need to find something about which you are passionate. Identify a social ailment you want to resolve and then find a way to resolve that ailment through volunteering or even employment.

astro1819

Bronze

Post by astro1819 » Wed Jan 20, 2010 3:29 pm