GPA Addendum about Panic Attacks, Helpful or Hurtful? Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
thedragon5678

New

GPA Addendum about Panic Attacks, Helpful or Hurtful?

Post by thedragon5678 » Thu May 07, 2020 1:06 am

My second semester of freshman year I started getting panic attacks on campus that lead to me failing one class and receiving a few B's. I then did a summer study abroad where I got all A's again. But when I went back for fall of my sophomore year, my panic attacks were so crippling that I had to withdraw from all classes and go home to get medical help. I took the spring semester of my sophomore year off as well to work and get better. My junior and senior years I received all A's (I graduated on time because I had so much credit going in, despite taking sophomore year off for my health). Is mental health too much of a taboo for law school still? Should I just let my grades speak for themselves? I am applying to Harvard, NYU, and Columbia. I don't want my previous history with panic attacks to call into question my competency. My overall GPA is 3.75.
Freshman (Fall): 4.0
Freshman (Spring): 2.16
Freshman- Sophomore (Summer- Study Abroad): 4.0
Sophomore (Fall): Withdrawn
Sophomore (Spring): No Classes Taken
Junior (Fall): 4.0
Junior (Spring): 4.0
Senior (Fall): 4.0
Senior (Spring): 4.0

nixy

Gold

Re: GPA Addendum about Panic Attacks, Helpful or Hurtful?

Post by nixy » Thu May 07, 2020 8:22 am