Personal Statement for a foreign lawyer Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
Stan Neo

New

Personal Statement for a foreign lawyer

Post by Stan Neo » Thu Apr 09, 2020 10:10 am

I'm a foreign lawyer planning to apply to a JD program in the United States. I can't think of a personal statement topic; however, I'm getting the impression that my personal statement needs to explain why I'm leaving my country and pursuing a JD program.

My problem is that I don't really have any other reason besides that I want to work in the US, which sounds too oversimple and trivial a reason to want to study American JD.

Moreover, several foreign lawyers I know who are studying JD in the US have had several years of work experience as lawyers in their countries before applying to a US JD program. Meanwhile, I only have had one year of work experience as a lawyer in my country. Is that going to be a problem?

The Lsat Airbender

Gold

Re: Personal Statement for a foreign lawyer

Post by The Lsat Airbender » Thu Apr 09, 2020 5:04 pm

Stan Neo wrote:My problem is that I don't really have any other reason besides that I want to work in the US, which sounds too oversimple and trivial a reason to want to study American JD.
If you can't flesh it out any better than that, then maybe the entire undertaking is a bit rash, no?

I wouldn't stress too much about it. Good personal statements communicate a sense of purpose but they are mainly used to get a sense of your personality and communication skills. Your LSAT is going to be much more important to your admission chances.

QContinuum

Re: Personal Statement for a foreign lawyer

Post by QContinuum » Thu Apr 09, 2020 7:58 pm

The Lsat Airbender wrote:
Stan Neo wrote:My problem is that I don't really have any other reason besides that I want to work in the US, which sounds too oversimple and trivial a reason to want to study American JD.