PS critique, happy to swap Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
Anonymous User

PS critique, happy to swap

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Jan 03, 2017 10:48 pm

Hi all. 3.5/169 shooting for UVA (best regional school for me). Happy to swap as well if you want (just PM me).

At the age of six, I immigrated to the U.S. with my parents. Although I studied English before our arrival, nothing could have prepared me for the cultural and political differences I would face here. I had a new set of behaviors to learn: No bowing, not taking my shoes off inside, and making firm eye contact with others. A new culture to absorb: A crash course in 90’s cartoons, enthusiastically cheering on the Eagles, and watching the Simpsons. But when I decided to volunteer with the Capital Area Immigrants’ Rights (CAIR) Coalition this year, I was reminded not only of the exciting parts of becoming an immigrant, but also to the hardships that my parents and I faced during the immigration process when I met with Carlos. Carlos had come from El Salvador legally as a teen, but he’d gotten in trouble with the law a few times. After he was released from jail, he wanted to stay in the US because he’d reformed, planned on getting a degree, and wanted to take care of his siblings. The more he talked about his experiences in the immigration system, the more I remembered the long lines at the office as I waited to have a photo taken, my father pacing the apartment as he waited, worried about the status of his work visa, then later our green cards. We both remembered the fear, the uncertainty, and worst of all, the endless waiting. Carlos was like me – he just wanted to stay in the place he now called home. This was not only an opportunity to help those who were suffering through the immigration system, it was an experience that piqued my interest in immigration law.