PS draft1, please help! Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
EmilyClark

New

PS draft1, please help!

Post by EmilyClark » Wed Dec 21, 2016 3:34 am

I wrote my PS based on my internship, can you guys please give me some advice or critiques?
Thank you!

My interest in public service begins when I work started my task on withholding money from non-custodial parent during my internship at the Attorney General’s Office of Child Support Division. As an intern, I was allowed the access to look through both custodial and non-custodial parent’s identifying record, and withhold money from non-custodial parents’ paycheck if he or she had delayed their monthly payment. As I went through lists of the withholding order, I notice a pattern among the non-custodial parents. Almost all the non-custodial parents fail to keep up their payment are earning an income that can barely cover their living standard, living below the poverty line.
After I discovered this pattern, withholding money from those non-custodial parents had become a physical and mentally drained task to me. Though I complete every withholding order that was entrusted to me, I could not help but feel a sense of dissatisfaction. It is also because of my pure curiosity and desire for knowledge that drove me to action, I begin my research on child support payment plan.