Personal Statement Submission Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
Anonymous User

Personal Statement Submission

Post by Anonymous User » Sun Jul 10, 2016 1:04 am

Ok, so I'm applying in the Fall just like most others and the idea for my PS just hit me. Please review. Not too concerned about the grammar right now more so than criticisms on the philosophy of what I'm writing and comments on the idea or its presentation.

Here it goes:

If you had told me two and a half years ago that I'd be sitting here writing a personal statement to (University of _________) I would've laughed and called you crazy. When I enrolled in college as a freshman, I had a love for law but I didn't choose that direction initially. I had heard from everyone my entire life that I would make an excellent lawyer. That notion offended me. Why could'n't I be an excellent doctor, musician, writer, scientist, or programmer? So I set out to prove everyone wrong. I enrolled in the hardest science and math classes I was allowed entry to as a freshman and began my quest. Spoiler: It ended in failure. For the first time in my life I had set out to be successful at something and failed miserably. That's also when I discovered that being a doctor wasn't in the cards for me. It wasn't that I didn't possess the intelligence, I just hated science. I still thought to myself that law was no option. During my freshman year, the markets were abysmal as a result of the recession and there were a lot of people discouraging college students from pursuing law because apparently a law degree had become 'worthless'. I embraced this philosophy and continued to avoid law until I had a conversation with a friend later that year that lead to the series of events that has me here typing this personal statement. She had just found out that she got the lowest score in her entire course section on her final chemistry exam. She told us all that she realized she wanted to be a lawyer anyway. I couldn'