Personal Statement Draft (involves the Middle East and IP Law) Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
Jodutt

New

Personal Statement Draft (involves the Middle East and IP Law)

Post by Jodutt » Sat Nov 14, 2015 10:11 pm

I'm applying to The George Washington University School of Law under an Early Decision application. My major is Geology and I wish to study patent law (under intellectual property law).

To whoever reads and comments, I owe you one, big time!

Sometime in December of 1978, my father, ****, escaped a catastrophic experience after a cocktail bottle whizzed by the right side of his face and shattered near his hands at the door. That door was an entrance into the Marvin Center. An Iranian pro-Shah protester threw the cocktail bottle with aim at anti-Shah groups across the street. Rather than hit the intended target, the bottle almost hit the back of my father’s head. Thankfully, the shattered glass only yielded small spouts of blood from his knuckles and fingers.

On the morning of October 31, 2015, I wrote the preceding paragraph at the same spot where my father was almost hit. I then entered the center and called him to talk about my visit to the university. We mostly exchanged jokes and laughs, and my father ended the call with a hopeful message overlying an emotional undertone, “There’s one stark difference between me and my children that I’m thankful for. I merely reacted to fear throughout my life. You and your siblings, instead, are taking the offensive against fear.”

As a Saudi Arabian student at The George Washington University, my father had already expected the worst from upheaval associated with the Iranian Revolution. With family in Al-Khobar, Saudi Arabia, – where the revolution inspired dangerous grievances – my father feared for his family’s safety. He accepted a job offer at Aramco, located in Dhahran, Saudi Arabia (a five minute drive from his parents’ home) to watch out for his loved ones.