how to spin this? Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
secondshot

New

how to spin this?

Post by secondshot » Tue Mar 25, 2014 7:48 pm

I have over ten years experience in Loss Prevention. This is a specialized industry where I worked in internal investigations for various corporations. Essentially, when an employee was stealing from the business, they called me in to investigate and interview the subject based on the evidence, then used the evidence and the subject's statement to make a case against him for the police department.

The first five years was working in Loss Prevention as a basic agent (grunt), meaning I would catch shoplifters, undercover in retail stores. I probably arrested well over 5000 individuals for crimes ranging from petty theft, burglary, conspiracy, etc. I also spent almost a year as an undercover employee for a business to infiltrate a theft ring within the company. It resulted in the arrest of over 15 employees and the case yielded over 300K in restitution and several convictions. The case was publicized in the local newspapers, etc and credited me as the undercover employee who "cracked the case". I went on to manage several LP programs at various businesses.

Anyway, my first question is, how much does having this background even help me when applying to LS's? If it does, how would I go about presenting this in my PS, in the most compelling way? I don't want to just lay the it all out there, as it's a dry topic. So how would I connect this in an engaging way that shows how my interest in law derives from my years spent in an industry related to law?

Thanks for your help.

jn7

Bronze

Re: how to spin this?

Post by jn7 » Tue Mar 25, 2014 8:15 pm

It'd definitely be cool/memorable application, but as you probably know, it'll be based almost solely on your numbers.