First Draft. Please comment Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
Anonymous User

First Draft. Please comment

Post by Anonymous User » Sun Feb 02, 2014 12:57 pm

Here is my personal statement. Any comment is welcomed. Thanks in advance!

Two major factors have contributed to my decision to study law. Thanks to my grandad, who tried to pass on to me the moral doctrines embedded in traditional Chinese culture when I was very young, I started to develope an intuitive concern for moral issues at an early age. As I got to study moral philosophy in university, I acquired a more sophisticated understanding of the concept of justice and a strong motivation to promote it. Because practicing law is one of the best way to satisfy this motive, studying law has naturally captured a great deal of my interest.

Also, as an international student, I observe how an efficient system of laws can enormously help facilitate the interaction in many fields between the people and institutions across countries. By building up expertise in the U.S. legal system and legal codes, I hope that I can utilise my knowledge to deliver opportunities across the national borders. In particular, I wish disadvantaged people could get a fair chance in business under the comparatively full-fledged U.S. legal system with my help.

Besides sincere motivations, I also manage to obtain skills that are particularly relevant to the study of law. Through the study of philosophy, formal logics in particular, I have learnt to perceive arguments structurally and critically. Also, I have managed to upgrade the level of comprehension that I can make out of the often extremely dense and abstract philosophy literatures. Furthermore, the economics, politics courses at LSE have placed a high demand on my ability to examine a variety of data, models and facts that contained in the arguments. I believe the analytic skills obtained will also be applicable to the study of law.