PS Advice - Any comments for improvement appreciated Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
Anonymous User

PS Advice - Any comments for improvement appreciated

Post by Anonymous User » Fri Sep 27, 2013 12:32 pm

Over the last several years, I have grown to become a determined, young adult. Throughout the maturation process I have had many life experiences which have impacted my life profoundly. These events have molded me into the man I am today, but one exceptional hurdle stands alone. I am grateful that this particular tragedy has transformed me and assisted me in setting my sights on a meaningful legal career.
Just as I graduated from high school, my mother was fatefully diagnosed with terminal, metastic breast cancer. When my parents informed me of the situation, my heart plummeted as if someone were crushing it into the pit of my stomach. I felt incredibly alone, lost, and defeated. My parents went on to tell me that the oncologist informed my mother, that at best, she would live another six months. My heart dropped once again, only this time I was shocked into disbelief. The news my parents had just relayed to me seemed to stop time altogether, yet I knew I would have to leave her side in just a few weeks to start my college career.
Throughout the emotionally and mentally trying times that followed, my mother instilled in me the value of life. She helped me understand that our fleeting time in life is the most precious commodity available. Because of this experience, I now fully comprehend my capacity to utilize my complete potential to improve not only myself, but those around me each and every day.