10th (Final ?) Draft, Any advice apprecitated Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
wwUSMC84

New

10th (Final ?) Draft, Any advice apprecitated

Post by wwUSMC84 » Fri Sep 14, 2012 10:01 am

Any advice/criticsm to make this better is welcome. I've stripped and rewritten this thing over and over again. Im still a little concearned about the conclusion. Any Suggestions?

I am a Marine Officer, and I intend to remain one as long as the Marine Corps will have me. However, I never would have imagined that I would actually end up here. After all, obese young men don’t become Marine Officers.

In 2005, I was a 21 year old junior at the University of North Texas studying for a career in the film industry. The combination of long hours studying, working in a darkroom or editing lab, tendencies to stress eat, and a lack of exercise quickly took their toll. I gained 150 pounds in my first two years at school, negatively impacting my confidence and causing to be very insecure. I made several half-hearted attempts at weight loss, which I quickly abandoned when they became difficult or inconvenient. However, it was not until a yearly physical revealed warning signs of diabetes and hypertension, conditions I have seen family members struggle with, that I finally realized that I had to stop my self-destructive habits. The prospect of a shortened life tethered to syringes and pills frightened me to my core.