Bible verse... terrible terrible idea? Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
ryoung81

New

Bible verse... terrible terrible idea?

Post by ryoung81 » Thu Aug 02, 2012 2:31 pm

So, I'm a 30 year old professional. I went back to school for my bachelors and now I'm applying to law schools while working full-time. In my personal statement I'm contemplating writing about how my beliefs about education have changed since I graduated from high school. More specifically, feeling education was not needed for such a smart person as myself when I was longer, to now witnessing the benefits of education all around me in career.

I was trying to think of a hook, and a bible verse (i believe Corinthians) that goes something like this "when I was a child I talked as a child, thought as a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put childish things behind me." I thought it would be something I could refer back to throughout my statement to illustrate my change in perception.

I'm not terribly religious, but I find it is a meaningful quote. I am applying to schools in Texas, which is a fairly God fearing state... so I tend to think if I do it well then it would be acceptable, there is no possibility of my using it to sound preachy...

Thoughts?

cholza00

New

Re: Bible verse... terrible terrible idea?

Post by cholza00 » Thu Aug 02, 2012 2:43 pm

ryoung81 wrote:So, I'm a 30 year old professional. I went back to school for my bachelors and now I'm applying to law schools while working full-time. In my personal statement I'm contemplating writing about how my beliefs about education have changed since I graduated from high school. More specifically, feeling education was not needed for such a smart person as myself when I was longer, to now witnessing the benefits of education all around me in career.