PS Second Draft Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
freefaller2006

New

PS Second Draft

Post by freefaller2006 » Fri Feb 04, 2011 10:59 am

This is the second draft of my statement. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Winston Churchill once said, “A pessimist sees the difficulty in every opportunity; an optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty.”
As I sat in an American Politics class absorbing this idea, I would have laughed at anyone who told me that Churchill’s words would lead me down a path toward a legal education. I was two years into college, and seemingly on a crash course. Schoolwork was never a struggle for me. I graduated from high school in the top ten percent of the state of Washington, and I did so with little effort. As I entered college, I was both blessed and cursed with the knowledge that I could succeed with only modest exertion.

By the end of my sophomore year, lack of academic enthusiasm left me misplaced and without direction. I was no longer successful by my own standards. For the first time in my life I realized that my friends had drifted away from me, my family had grown apart as the result of a lengthy divorce, and I was truly alone and on track for failure. I felt that I was given the gift of a powerful mind, but began to realize I was childishly misusing it. That was when the words of Winston Churchill became more than just a quote taped to my desk; they became a source of inspiration and drive to succeed. Looking back I feel surprisingly blessed to have been temporarily depressed and hindered by personal challenges. The overpowering discouragement I experienced was nothing more than a disguised opportunity. It was a chance for a fresh start; a chance to find something I was fascinated by and pursue it.