Please critique my NEW, NEW version (hopefully its better) Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
gregthomas77

Bronze

Please critique my NEW, NEW version (hopefully its better)

Post by gregthomas77 » Sat Jan 29, 2011 10:36 pm

OK, here is a NEW, NEW version. I have tried to take into account all of the comments I have gotten before. I try to talk about my past, my journey, and my goals. I also tried to remove most of the self-depricating material and add in more "bragging" on myself. Of course, I probably f'd up the grammer somewhere, but here again, I am open for comments.

When I arrived at college, I joined the debate team after having debated throughout high school, and finding success I decided to put all of my time and effort into the discipline. I convinced myself that if I worked hard and was successful at debate that I would be able to argue my way into the law school of my choice. As a result of my nearsighted overconfidence, I graduated with a great debate record, including twice making into the finals at the national championships (with one win), and a GPA that squashed, at least in the short-run, my dream of attending an Ivy League law program.

While my GPA was a setback, my experiences as an undergraduate did lead to some other important revelations. Concentrating on debate in college, I selected communication as my major so that I could learn as much as possible from my debate coach, a communication professor. In doing so, I learned how valuable the power to communicate can be and I learned from my leadership position on the team how much I enjoyed teaching others. As a result of these lessons, I decided that since my law school dream was temporarily curtailed, I would take a new path to reaching my dream by building myself up through teaching.