PS Swap Please Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
uwgbluedevil

Bronze

PS Swap Please

Post by uwgbluedevil » Tue Nov 09, 2010 4:25 pm

I've only had my parents read it so its not really the most constructive feedback, lol. Anyone interested, just let me know.

In May 2005, when I graduated from high school, I was totally unprepared from both an academic and maturity standpoint. I had wasted much of high school performing poorly and not planning for my future. When I reached graduation I felt I had crippled my future. I wanted to go to college and continue my education because I understood that without a college degree, my career prospects would be severely limited. Therefore, my dad and I arranged a deal that would allow me to earn his respect and thus, help me earn a college degree.

The stipulations of the deal were that I get a full-time job and save enough money to pay for my first year of college. If I did well enough, my dad would fund the remaining 3 years. I found a job at FedEx Kinko’s working as a production associate, and to be honest, I had no idea what I would be doing. The Center Manager told me that I had gotten the job not by illustrating a strong knowledge of the position, but rather by exhibiting a great deal of desire and enthusiasm during the interview. I started out working for seven dollars an hour; more than a dollar less per hour than anyone else in the same position. I did not let my salary deter me and according to my manager, it showed. He mentioned on several occasions that I possessed a fifty dollar an hour attitude working a seven dollar an hour job which motivated me further.