Personal Statement Possible Topics Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
clmcbride07

New

Personal Statement Possible Topics

Post by clmcbride07 » Sun Sep 12, 2010 12:09 pm

Hey, thanks in advance for any advice and ideas that you all might be able to provide.

I'm about to start crafting my personal statement, and I'm having a little trouble deciding on what topics to include in the essay. I have an unusual background, but not ethnically diverse. I'm a 21 year old Caucasian male, which last time I checked doesn't qualify me as an URM.

However, my background is different than most. I was homeschooled from the sixth grade up until my senior year in high school, I've worked thirty hours a week since I was sixteen, and I suffered a skiing accident during my senior year that left me without a spleen and therefore an extremely weakened immune system.

I was thinking about my personal statement having the main idea of determination, of going through school without the experiences that others might have, of working basically full-time and still making good grades, and not letting physical weakness slow down my studies. I scored a 160 on the LSAT my first time taking it, and I have a GPA of 3.3, so I'm not a bad student by any means. At the same time however, I don't want to come across as weak and vulnerable to the reader, and if they were to get the wrong idea from my personal statement they might not think that I would be cut out for law school.

Any advice or ideas on how to take this? Should I leave out any parts, and what parts should get more attention than others? Thanks again for any help you might be able to provide.

CanadianWolf

Diamond

Re: Personal Statement Possible Topics

Post by CanadianWolf » Sun Sep 12, 2010 12:14 pm

Kind of takes the "personal" out of "personal statement".

Better to write a draft first & seek suggestions.

WayBryson

Bronze

Post by WayBryson » Sun Sep 12, 2010 8:06 pm