Will being honest re: my worst experience/obstacle hurt me? Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
kellycane

New

Will being honest re: my worst experience/obstacle hurt me?

Post by kellycane » Wed Sep 01, 2010 5:31 pm

Hi everyone,

I know a lot of colleges have variations of the essay question, "What was the worst thing that ever happened to you and how did you overcome it." For me, being diagnosed with clinical depression in high school, and battling a relapse in college, has been my biggest challenge. Despite having depression, I graduated from a top 50 school with a 3.67 GPA and scored a 167 the first and only time I took the LSAT. Will being candid about having depression hurt my admission chances? I did go to therapy and worked very hard at overcoming and dealing with my depression, and I've started to train a therapy dog to help other people with mental illness. It's a topic that means a lot to me, but I'm not sure how I could tie it all back into law, unless I talk about inadequate legal protections for people who suffer psychiatric illness/disabilities. Either way, will the admissions officers think I'm a risk because I admit to having depression?

Thanks in advance for your honest opinions!!

El_Gallo

Bronze

Re: Will being honest re: my worst experience/obstacle hurt me?

Post by El_Gallo » Wed Sep 01, 2010 5:40 pm

I don't think writing about depression will hurt you chances at all. Depression is very common especially in young adults and I have a feeling that its a often topic used in law school admissions essays.

It sounds like you have done a great job dealing with your depression. I would focus on that and try to make yourself stand out. Thats really cool that you are training a dog to help others with mental illnesses. Good luck with everything!

Marionberry

Silver

Post by Marionberry » Wed Sep 01, 2010 5:42 pm