PS - too commonplace? Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
saraK

New

PS - too commonplace?

Post by saraK » Mon Jul 05, 2010 4:03 pm

Okay I am just beginning to write a personal statement for law schools and I've come up with a rough idea of what I want to write about but I'm not sure if it's too commonplace, so I was hoping for some input or suggestions to make it more interesting!

Basically I'm planning to write about how I've been working since I was 15 years old, always had an after school job in high school, part-time jobs throughout college and summer jobs every year. Pretty typical, I've never needed a job and my family is very well off but for some reason once I started working I haven't stopped. Also I've had a variety of jobs - lifeguarding, waitressing, telefundraising, babysitting and kind of how each one gives me some characteristic I might apply in law school: time-management, hard work, dealing with a variety of people, etc etc etc. Writing is one of the my strength so I think I could make it into a well written paper but I'm just unsure if the content will be too run of the mill.

Thanks!

Tautology

Bronze

Re: PS - too commonplace?

Post by Tautology » Mon Jul 05, 2010 4:08 pm

Very few people will have unique, or rare enough, experiences that will set them apart through content alone. What makes a good personal statement isn't what it's about, but that it shows something about who you are. Do that well, and it doesn't matter how many other personal statements about the same general experiences they've seen.

philosoraptor

Silver

Post by philosoraptor » Mon Jul 05, 2010 4:10 pm

Anything that reads like a rundown of your resume/activities list is not a great idea -- not even "strong" writing will save it. Consider a more focused approach.

blurbz

Silver

Post by blurbz » Mon Jul 05, 2010 4:16 pm

I agree that you don't want just a resume summary as your PS.