Cheapest Option for Would-Be Public Interest Lawyer Forum

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
Undecided06

New

Cheapest Option for Would-Be Public Interest Lawyer

Post by Undecided06 » Sat Aug 15, 2020 11:43 pm

Hi all,

I graduated from Vanderbilt with a 3.72GPA. I am taking the LSAT in 2 weeks and I am projected to get a 164 (maybe a 166). I currently work at Legal Aid and can get excellent recommendations from my boss and the executive director. I want to be radical movement lawyer and I expect to make very little money being so. As such, I want to go to the cheapest school possible. I don't really care much for prestige or geographical area. I have a soft preference to stay in the South.

Given my stats, could y'all suggest some schools where I could go and get in as little debt as possible?

ALCA1920

New

Re: Cheapest Option for Would-Be Public Interest Lawyer

Post by ALCA1920 » Sun Aug 16, 2020 10:56 am

You have a good GPA, but without an LSAT score, it's hard to say which schools would give you a good scholarship. If you get at least a 165, you have good options in southern states: Alabama, Tulane, UGA, Florida, and Texas (Houston or Texas Tech). For the southwest, you could try UofA or UNM. Also look at your in-state public schools, since they give tuition discounts to residents. A 164 would be fine for many of these schools, but a 165+ would give you even better discounts.

Best of luck!

Ohiobumpkin

Silver

Post by Ohiobumpkin » Sun Aug 16, 2020 10:16 pm

What part of the country do you want to practice in? Also, what kind of movement/social issue did you want to get involved with? Criminal justice reform, immigration reform, etc?

decimalsanddollars

Bronze

Post by decimalsanddollars » Tue Aug 18, 2020 2:59 pm