Understanding UVA Loan Forgiveness Forum

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
bciara96

New

Understanding UVA Loan Forgiveness

Post by bciara96 » Sat Jan 04, 2020 2:38 pm

Hello all!

I'm just trying to get a solid understanding of University of Virginia's loan forgiveness program for public service. I've read the online information https://www.law.virginia.edu/public-ser ... orgiveness but I've never done any type of loans before and I just want to make sure I understand it. This could be what decides where I go for school.

I understand that I have to fill out the FASFA and that's how I see loan amounts. I know VLFP only applies to federal loans which I'm told should be fine (I've been told that I can take out loans for the full cost of attendance regardless of any income or other restrictions).

1. From what I've read about some loan forgiveness programs, they seem to only kick in after 10 years. It doesn't look like that's the case with this but I wanted to verify. Does the assistance (full coverage if <$55k, other coverage if <$75k) begin immediately after graduating/submitting the application or is there a waiting period?

2. I see that the loans have to be placed in IBR or PAYE. I'm not sure what those are or what the process would be for doing that. I would love some additional information.

3. What happens to remaining loans after the conclusion of the 10 year program?

I'm hoping to find someone who has used this program. Again, I really don't know much about student loans so any information would be extraordinarily helpful. How much is expected to be repaid in a month/year (if it's related to income, assume like $60k or something)? Can anyone speak to what "other coverage" might be when income exceeds $55k? Does this program usually cover all of the loans or will there still be a large amount to be repaid after the ten years?