Switching from IBR to REPAYE with PSLF: A Costly Mistake Forum

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
Recentgrad88

New

Switching from IBR to REPAYE with PSLF: A Costly Mistake

Post by Recentgrad88 » Mon Dec 28, 2015 9:42 pm

I graduated last year and currently work in the public sector. Upon graduation I immediately signed up for IBR* with PSLF. While renewing IBR this month, I discovered that REPAYE became available this month, which would cut my payments by 1/3.

While doing some research of my own, however, I discovered that making this switch will result in a cap at $57,500 -- this is assuming, of course, the budget proposal passes.

Unfortunately, the call receivers at myfedloan are not privy to this information, because the budget proposal has not passed. As a result, many borrowers are likely to opt for REPAYE but could find themselves subject to the $57,500 cap if and when the budget proposal passes.

Here is the link to an official statement from the Department of Education's Office of Budget Services: http://studentdebtcenter.org/official-s ... tations-2/

*I would have taken advantage of PAYE instead of IBR initially(not to be confused with REPAYE), but I did not qualify.

twenty

Gold

Re: Switching from IBR to REPAYE with PSLF: A Costly Mistake

Post by twenty » Tue Dec 29, 2015 3:50 am

I would imagine a borrower could switch from IBR to REPAYE back to IBR again though, right? I'd be more concerned if I were a new student entering with CO19.

lacrossebrother

Platinum

Post by lacrossebrother » Tue Dec 29, 2015 10:54 am

"After summarizing President Obama’s 2015 Budget Proposal last week"
-dated October 29, 2015.
Ummm...?

A. Nony Mouse

Diamond

Post by A. Nony Mouse » Tue Dec 29, 2015 1:09 pm