Should my parents claim me as a dependent? Forum

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
anna2112

New

Should my parents claim me as a dependent?

Post by anna2112 » Thu Feb 12, 2015 3:36 pm

I graduated in July 2014 (overseas undergrad education) and I'm trying to figure out FAFSA/Need Access. I'm wondering if it will make a difference to my financial aid package if my mom claims me as a dependent on her taxes for 2014. I only started working in January 2015, so I was unemployed for all of 2014 and don't have a tax return to file, so that's the incentive for my mom to claim me (plus it's more money for her). However, she can't contribute to my law school education (I've got a sister in college and a younger brother at home). Will law schools think that because I'm a dependent, she should contribute more than if I were independent for tax purposes?

I've been accepted to Columbia, UChicago, and NYU. Thanks so much for your help!

ChemEng1642

Silver

Re: Should my parents claim me as a dependent?

Post by ChemEng1642 » Mon Feb 16, 2015 10:35 am

anna2112 wrote:I graduated in July 2014 (overseas undergrad education) and I'm trying to figure out FAFSA/Need Access. I'm wondering if it will make a difference to my financial aid package if my mom claims me as a dependent on her taxes for 2014. I only started working in January 2015, so I was unemployed for all of 2014 and don't have a tax return to file, so that's the incentive for my mom to claim me (plus it's more money for her). However, she can't contribute to my law school education (I've got a sister in college and a younger brother at home). Will law schools think that because I'm a dependent, she should contribute more than if I were independent for tax purposes?

I've been accepted to Columbia, UChicago, and NYU. Thanks so much for your help!