Parental information on FAFSA Forum

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
username101

New

Parental information on FAFSA

Post by username101 » Sat Jan 05, 2013 11:27 pm

I know as a law student I'll be considered independent, and some schools say they don't require parent's information on the FAFSA. But, will it hurt if I do provide the information? Or will they just completely ignore it?

Cellar-door

Bronze

Re: Parental information on FAFSA

Post by Cellar-door » Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:34 am

If it isn't required why would you bother putting it on there?
Do you just really enjoy filling out tax information?
If so perhaps you should forget about law school and become an accountant.

dingbat

Gold

Post by dingbat » Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:57 am

'm fairly sure that under 30(?) you are required to put your parental information on FAFSA. For the most part, no one gives a shit - most schools don't give need-based aid (those that do tend to use need-access) and you'll still be eligible for federal loans

username101

New

Post by username101 » Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:06 am

Cellar-door wrote:If it isn't required why would you bother putting it on there?
it's just that some schools require it, and others don't. just wanted to fill it out all at once

B90

Silver

Post by B90 » Sun Jan 06, 2013 3:25 pm

username101 wrote:
Cellar-door wrote:If it isn't required why would you bother putting it on there?
it's just that some schools require it, and others don't. just wanted to fill it out all at once