Waitlist then Scholarship? Forum

Discuss various money matters here. Loans (federal and private), scholarships, lottery winnings, or other school finance related information and queries.
The63rdMusketeer

New

Waitlist then Scholarship?

Post by The63rdMusketeer » Mon Dec 19, 2011 2:29 pm

Two quick questions:

1. Am I safe in assuming that any school that waitlists me because I'm a borderline student will not be granting me any scholarship money (since it sounds like need based is exclusively given in the form of loans)?
2. If a school waitlists me due to yield protection, is there any chance of getting in off the waitlist and then getting a substantial scholarship since my numbers would be well above the medians?

Thanks

ScrabbleChamp

Silver

Re: Waitlist then Scholarship?

Post by ScrabbleChamp » Mon Dec 19, 2011 2:34 pm

The63rdMusketeer wrote:Two quick questions:

1. Am I safe in assuming that any school that waitlists me because I'm a borderline student will not be granting me any scholarship money (since it sounds like need based is exclusively given in the form of loans)?
2. If a school waitlists me due to yield protection, is there any chance of getting in off the waitlist and then getting a substantial scholarship since my numbers would be well above the medians?

Thanks
I can't speak to the first question, as it really depends on the school and their practices of awarding scholarship. That is, last year, Illinois awarded every incoming student at least $8k. But, chances are that if you are WL'd because you are borderline with regard to numbers, you probably won't get money.

As far as your second question, if you are YP'd and get in off the waitlist, you may get substantial money depending on when you get off the waitlist. I know last year several Minnesota applicants got huge (up to full scholly) from the WL when they sent in LOCI.

MormonChristian

Bronze

Post by MormonChristian » Mon Dec 19, 2011 2:37 pm

The63rdMusketeer wrote:Two quick questions: