Worth leaving Canada/applying to US? Forum

Share experiences and seek insight regarding your experience as an underrepresented minority within the legal community.
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
AfroKant

New

Worth leaving Canada/applying to US?

Post by AfroKant » Wed Apr 22, 2020 9:57 pm

Hello, I was hoping the posters on here would be able to shed some light on my situation as I am not particularly sure how I ought to proceed. In short, I am a Canadian student primarily interested in legal academia and, to a lesser extent, what most would consider unicorn positions, but I don't know if the best way to get there is an American institution or not.

To my understanding, if I were to get above 163 on the LSAT, I imagine I'd be competitive for most schools near the bottom of the T14: AA male, 3.9 GPA (philosophy/psychology), weak softs (e.g. typical stuff like club presidencies, started an on-campus organization, etc.), have been told I will receive strong recs.

Work experience is average: government internships and research positions. I'd be K-JD and I hear that is frowned upon.

Now, I'm trying to figure out if it's worth seriously considering American options given my likelihood of admittance in Canada. Legal academia is prestige driven so it would obviously be in my best interest to put together the strongest (academic) resume possible; however, I fear the cost to move from Toronto to virtually anywhere in the U.S. will be astronomical and in the end completely boneheaded.