help a newbie Forum

Share experiences and seek insight regarding your experience as an underrepresented minority within the legal community.
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Olise

New

help a newbie

Post by Olise » Tue Jun 09, 2015 5:59 pm

Hello I am new to tls and my college does not have enough support for those interested in law school, particularly for African American males. I have a 3.0 and I am a rising junior, Ive also been study for the lsat in December, what type of scores should I achieve to get accepted into wake, UNC, or duke law. I am from North Carolina and I am just looking for any advice for getting into North Carolina big law .

I kind of just wanted to introduce myself as well.

Nice to meet you guys! 8)

PoopNpants

Silver

Re: help a newbie

Post by PoopNpants » Tue Jun 09, 2015 6:36 pm

Why don't you aim higher? With the right LSAT you could have some good options. What are your goals? If you got two more years of school, I'd just focus on getting the best GPA possible over the next two years, don't worry about the LSAT now

Olise

New

Post by Olise » Tue Jun 09, 2015 7:20 pm

Thanks a lot man, where I am from these are really good schools I have not even thought about any where else. What are some suggestions, that are affordable. Also I figured I could study during the summer hard and review and take practice test during the school year, and if need be I can re-test. Also I want to apply as early as possible so I can get scholarships while they are available . And my goals are big law or a clerkship.

Again thanks for the response!

The Mixed Tape

Platinum