Is Asian URM? Forum

Share experiences and seek insight regarding your experience as an underrepresented minority within the legal community.
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
dliu3

New

Is Asian URM?

Post by dliu3 » Sat Mar 05, 2011 5:26 pm

I am an Asian student. Am I considered a URM?

quetzal_bird

Bronze

Re: Is Asian URM?

Post by quetzal_bird » Sat Mar 05, 2011 5:27 pm

no

El_Gallo

Bronze

Post by El_Gallo » Sat Mar 05, 2011 5:27 pm

no. ORM

mez06

Bronze

Post by mez06 » Sat Mar 05, 2011 5:34 pm

absolutely not.

glacierfrost

Bronze

Post by glacierfrost » Sat Mar 05, 2011 5:36 pm

If you apply to schools like Alabama or Mississippi then you might get some boosts

lisjjen

Silver

Post by lisjjen » Sat Mar 05, 2011 5:40 pm

I've been wondering about that. My vote is -ish.

Technically no. But if the goal is to get the highest percentage of minorities in a class, Asians count. I have no evidence of this, but I would think if being Black or Hispanic gives you a 10 point bump, I wouldn't be surprised if being Asian gives you ~3-5.

Keep in mind, this is a theory. But look at how many Blacks are at Cornell vs how many Asians and then think about the percentage of Blacks and Asians in the US.

quetzal_bird

Bronze

Post by quetzal_bird » Sat Mar 05, 2011 5:45 pm

lisjjen wrote:I've been wondering about that. My vote is -ish.

Technically no. But if the goal is to get the highest percentage of minorities in a class, Asians count. I have no evidence of this, but I would think if being Black or Hispanic gives you a 10 point bump, I wouldn't be surprised if being Asian gives you ~3-5.