Native American? Forum

Share experiences and seek insight regarding your experience as an underrepresented minority within the legal community.
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
adamquigley9

New

Native American?

Post by adamquigley9 » Sat Feb 13, 2010 10:15 pm

Not to beat a dead horse on this forum, but I can't find a specific answer to my question.

My great-grandmother was a Native American (Cherokee to be exact). Now I'm not very good at math, but this makes me 1/8 Native American if I'm not mistaken. I have no registration or tribal affiliation paperwork or what not, but does this qualify me to consider myself URM status?

UF Gators

Bronze

Re: Native American?

Post by UF Gators » Sat Feb 13, 2010 10:27 pm

Have you ever in your life checked the box for Native American on any type of application? If you haven't then you are not a URM.

avacado111

Bronze

Post by avacado111 » Sat Feb 13, 2010 10:29 pm

i guess you can check both. Native American and whatever else you are.... that's the bueaty of the boxes. Altho, don't expect your urm bump to be great.

adamquigley9

New

Post by adamquigley9 » Sat Feb 13, 2010 11:51 pm

No...only recently discovered after grandmother passed away...sounds cliché, I know..

Anastasia Dee Dualla

Silver

Post by Anastasia Dee Dualla » Sat Feb 13, 2010 11:57 pm

adamquigley9 wrote:No...only recently discovered after grandmother passed away...sounds cliché, I know..