Dan (drs9p)'s blog of doom Forum

drs9p

New

Dan (drs9p)'s blog of doom

Post by drs9p » Tue Jan 23, 2007 10:54 am

I added the "of doom" to get more people to read. Did it work? Anyway, I've been wanting to post my personal statement on here in case anyone could benefit from it. I'm not sure the subject I chose is necessarily a "safe" way to go, but I am an avid writer and huge grammar natzi, so it should at least help in this regard. It's also a nice way to introduce myself. Here you go:

People of faith are often told to “be in the world, but not of the world.” Unfortunately, no one ever specifies which world. For me, there have always been two. The Mormon world and the world outside seem ever in conflict, and I’ve lived caught between them. My fight to inhabit both worlds without being defined by either has made me who I am today and set me on the path to law school.
My struggle with the Mormon world began on my first Friday in kindergarten with five words from a particularly reverent six-year-old named Matt Hansen. My dad was finally taking me to the zoo’s new shark exhibit that weekend, and I just couldn’t hold in the news. “I’m going to the see the sharks,” I practically shouted as my class gathered in a circle for large group. My teacher asked when I’d be going, and I enthusiastically replied, “The day after tomorrow!” Enter Matt Hansen, sitting cross-legged at the opposite end of a circle that included nearly every acquaintance I’d made in my short life. As a now familiar look of dismay played slowly across his face, he offered his five-word condemnation: “But Daniel, that’s a Sunday.”