Ribbit's Blog. Forum

Ribbit

New

Ribbit's Blog.

Post by Ribbit » Mon Jan 22, 2007 6:21 pm

I'm a 25 y/o frophmore. Yep, you heard it. A frophmore. I'll graduate in another two and a half years but I'm still in my first year of school. Why am I 25 and still only in my first year of school? Because at 18, I had no idea what I wanted to do. I went to school for a little while, but that wasn't the thing for me. I wasn't ready for the responsibility of trying to decide what I wanted to do for my life. So I dropped out of school, worked some crappy jobs, lived a pretty pointless, directionless life. But I did sample a lot of different kinds of alcohol. So all was not lost. After awhile, I got stir crazy, so I hopped in my dad's 18 wheeler with him and drove around the country for a couple months. I saw mountains, high plains, big cities, and a lot of truck stop waitresses with missing teeth. I started to get fidgety again and I really wanted to go back to school, but two things stood in my way: finances and direction. I didn't want to spend a ton of money on school only to graduate without the slightest idea of what I wanted to do with my life. So I thought I'd kill two birds with one stone: join the military and get money for school while discovering more about myself. So I joined the Marine Corps. They gave me fifty grand for school and the opportunity to get shot at. How could I turn it down? I worked as a network security administrator for most of my enlistment. That's right: I have computer hacking skills. I was in Fallujah, Iraq from February to September of 2004. I developed an ability to dodge mortar fire, play Worms World Party, and make up peanut-butter/pasta combinations simulatenously. I got out of the Marine Corps this past July and I now attend the University of Colorado at Boulder. I'm a political science major right now. My preference would be to triple-major in poli sci, int'l affairs, and french, but I want to graduate before the 39th century. I took